Analogue Memories

Most of us shoot photographs to capture memories with the family, dearest friends, or any person that should be kept in frame forever. I feel that these kinds of memories are arguably best made analoguely, since at least nowadays analogue pictures have a taste of the past. Because memories are always of the past and most people associate film photography with the past, what better way than to capture them using film?

Digital software and apps such as Instagram give the possibility to add filters to digital images to make them look antique and analogue. Although in my opinion they can do a nice job at this task – I too am an Instagram user – many people seem to forget that it could all simply be done analoguely and not digitally with an analogue look. Analogue looks appear to be enormously popular, but so often the look is merely imitated. In my view, imitation is never full achievement. For example, there are bands that cover music uniquely from a specific artist. They may manage to come very close to the actual artist, but it will never be the same. It may not be the purpose to be the same, but I think my point is clear. Software creating an analogue look may get very close to matching it, but true film charisma will never be achieved.

Recently, I stumbled upon some pictures that inspired me to write this blog entry. In the summer of 2012, together with two friends I visitited another dear friend on the German North Sea coast, just around the corner from Denmark. It seemed like ages ago, and the week is deeply missed.

ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/100, Aperture f/8

ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/100, Aperture f/8

This picture avove is my favourite of the trip. We had gone for an early evening dip in the fresh North Sea and later enjoyed the evening sun from this spot on the dike.  The memory really makes me crave for a fish bread roll! A must-have at the seaside in Germany.

ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/100, Aperture f/8

ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/100, Aperture f/8

Now when was the last time that you took a digital shot and achieved this kind of popping colours without editing?

The image above is a surprising one to me. If I were to see it for the first time and not be the photographer, I would not guess that this is in Germany. With the long white beach, the waves and the rugged cliffs vegetated as if ever dry, I am reminded of places closer to the equator. I especially like the corners in this shot.

In the image below (and in the first of the three presented today) one can see light reflections, typical of the Lomography La Sardina when used in direct sunlight. I am an absolute fan of these reflections, as they are never quite predictable and add a variable of surprise. Reflections have never bothered me in analogue photography and I actually welcome them, since they give the picture some extra charisma.

As a rule of thumb, photographic memories usually carry more emotional value when shot on film. To me at least. Digital software that imitates an analogue look is like a machine that imitates a loving heart.

ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/100, Aperture f/8

ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/100, Aperture f/8

All images shot on Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100.

One response to “Analogue Memories

  1. Pingback: Countryside Peace | The Analographer·

Leave a Reply

